If you have ever wondered what it takes to become a licensed real estate agent in Florida, you have come to the right place. Becoming a real estate agent in Florida can be a lucrative and rewarding career choice. However, it does come with its requirements. The process involves a background check, a pre-licensing course, and careful planning to ensure you take all of the necessary steps.
This blog post will discuss the Florida real estate license requirements to answer any questions you may have. Let’s dive right in.
Take A Pre-License Course And Pass
Before getting your real estate license in Florida, you must take a 63-hour pre-license course from an approved education provider. The course covers real estate principles, practices, and law. Once you have completed the course, you must take a final exam and pass it, before taking the Florida State exam. You must pass the State exam within two years of the course’s completion date.
Get Your Fingerprints Taken
After you have completed the pre-license course and passed the final exam, you will need to get your fingerprints taken. The State of Florida requires all real estate applicants to be fingerprinted and get a background check. This is done to ensure that you don’t have a criminal history that would disqualify you from obtaining a license.
You can get your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency or a private vendor authorized by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).
Submit Your Real Estate Application
Once you have completed the pre-license course, passed the exam, and had your fingerprints taken, you can submit your application for a real estate license. You can apply online through the DBPR’s website or by mail. You must provide your personal information, education history, and work history. You also need to include proof of completion of the pre-license course and proof of fingerprinting.
Along with your application, you will need to pay a fee for your initial application and license request. It’s important to note that your application will be processed once the DBPR receives all required documentation and fees. It takes approximately 10 days for approval.
Schedule The State Exam And Pass It
After accepting your application, you will receive an approval letter from the DBPR allowing you to schedule your State exam. You can take the Florida State Exam online from home or at a Pearson Vue test center, which are located all across the United States. The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions and you have 3.5 hours to complete it. You can find additional information about the Florida State Exam requirements in the candidate information booklet.
Florida Real Estate License Requirements: In Closing
In conclusion, becoming a licensed real estate agent in Florida requires time, effort, and money. However, it can be a rewarding and profitable career choice with the proper preparation and dedication.
By taking a pre-license course, getting your fingerprints taken, submitting your application, and passing the State exam, you will be well on your way to getting your real estate license in Florida. We hope you found this information regarding the Florida real estate license requirements to be helpful.